American Endurance Ride Conference
Home / About Us / Forms / Contact Us / Search    
Home
Member Login
Join/Renew AERCExpand Join/Renew AERC
Ride Calendar
New Member Information
Mentors - Find a MentorExpand Mentors - Find a Mentor
Contact AERC
Member Forms/Registration
Horse Registration
Search AERC
AERC RecordsExpand AERC Records
Frequently Asked Questions
BOD/CommitteesExpand BOD/Committees
CompetitionExpand Competition
Convention InformationExpand Convention Information
EducationExpand Education
Endurance NewsExpand Endurance News
InternationalExpand International
Membership RecognitionExpand Membership Recognition
Ride ManagersExpand Ride Managers
Rules and RegulationsExpand Rules and Regulations
TrailsExpand Trails
SponsorsExpand Sponsors
Control JudgesExpand Control Judges
About AERC

Join AERC Today!

 

Want to find out more?
Call AERC toll-free: 866-271-2372 or

for an information packet
 

Donate to AERC!
  • Trail Fund
  • Education Fund
  • Research Fund
  • General Fund
  • Junior Scholarship Fund
AERC is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation. Donations may be sent to the AERC office, P.O. Box 6027, Auburn, CA 95604.

AERC's Trail Master Program

AERC sponsors Trail Master classes across the U.S. In addition to teaching endurance riders the proper way to design and build new trails -- and maintain and improve existing trails -- we invite two land managers to attend the class with riders. Mornings are spent in the classroom. A written test follows at lunch, and afternoons are set aside for field work and getting one's hands dirty.

Those who graduate from the four-day course are certified crew leaders, and can go anyplace to lead crews in the proper way to maintain, build and design trails. By working together with our land managers we can build sustainable trails for the future.

 

Trail Master Courses

  • Duluth, Minnesota ($225/limited to 16 students) June 21-24. Must be an AERC member in good standing for at least one year. For information contact Candy Barbo, 218-349-9606 or candy.barbo@gmail.com.

 

Interested in hosting a Trail Master course? Start right here with these information flyers and forms:

Step 1: So You Want To Host An AERC Trail Master Class: Everything You Need to Know to Get Started

Step 2: How to Get Started Hosting an AERC Trail Master Class: AERC Trail Master Class Application

Step 3: Getting Started on your AERC Trail Master Class

Step 4: Finalizing your AERC Trail Master Class

Accident Waiver and Release of Liability Form

Trail Master Class Host Contract

We're happy to help guide you through the process! For information regarding Trail Master courses, contact coordinator Monica Chapman, monicachapman1987@gmail.com, phone: 913-471-4840

 

Course Description

Day 1: Trail design and layout. Course instructor Mike Riter stresses the importance of knowing the area first, both on foot and by studying topographic maps, which he calls "the trail designer's best friend." A good trail requires little maintenance because it is designed right. Flowing water, which accelerates the process of erosion, is the enemy of a trail. Proper design can avoid situations whereby the trail becomes a river during rainstorms. In the afternoon, participants learned how to use clinometers to assess the slopes around them in a scientific fashion.

Day 2: Trail construction. Attendees learn how to pick the proper tool for the job, when to use power tools, and how to cut trails into a slope. Riter also talks about how to build bridges and boardwalks, and when to incorporate switchbacks into a trail and how to do it right. He includes safety procedures for tool use, and teaches the best way to swing a shovel and not throw out your back. Very important!

Day 3: Trail maintenance. Although a well-designed trail is easy to maintain, most trails that trail workers will be dealing with have been laid out in a less than ideal way. If you canot reroute them, you will have to fix and maintain them, battling wind, water, and gravity.

Day 4: Crew leadership and graduation. The final day is where all that you have learned is pulled together in an outdoor session. The attendees each role-play "Crew Leader," using the language, tools, safety issues and teamwork with your class on the trail. At the end, certificates for those that completed the course will be issued.

 

Trail Master Course Graduates

If you need assistance with planning, repairing, or maintaining trails in your area, contact one of the course graduates below. If you have difficulty contacting a Trail Master graduate for your area, contact Monica Chapman at 913-471-4840 or monicachapman1987@gmail.com.

Arizona

  • Angie Fura, majik3000@centurylink.net
  • Marilyn McCoy, ruther8445@aol.com
  • Carrie Miracle-Jordan, miraclec@wildblue.net
  • Mark Williams, 520-455-4606

California

  • Carey Brock, cbrockreyno@gmail.com
  • Andrew Gerhard, a_gerhard7@hotmail.com
  • Judy Hall, michiganbluff@gmail.com
  • Steve Hallmark, SteveHallmark58@gmail.com
  • Laura Horst, rideorcleantack@gmail.com
  • Greg Kimler, echovalleyranchinc@yahoo.com
  • James Mather, mathershoeing@yahoo.com
  • Dr. Philip Ottinger, dr_o_dds@hotmail.com
  • Kathie Perry, kdpbioscan@hughes.net
  • Robert Ribley, robertribley@gmail.com
  • Mike Shackelford, captshack@yahoo.com
  • Robert Sydnor, rhsydnor@aol.com
  • Diane Trefethen, tref@wakerobinranch.com

Colorado

  • Linda Browneller, lindahorseshoer@yahoo.com

Florida

  • Leslie Feroglia, mfroggy_2011@windstream.net
  • Truman Prevatt, tprevatt@mindspring.com
  • Douglas Shearer, DVM, ds@liveoakac.com
  • Kathy Thompson, tprevatt@mindspring.com

Georgia

  • Sarah Engsberg, sarah.engsberg@mindspring.com
  • Joe Schoech, jschoech@bellsouth.net
  • Jimmy Underwood, laurieunderwood@knoogy.net
  • Alisa Waxman@suntrust.com
  • Cindy Young, cindys.young@aol.com

Illinois

  • Lucy Bagot, lucy@acesetsthepace.com
  • Genie Stewart-Spears, geniess@accessus.net

Indiana

  • Michael Caudill, conniecaudill@yahoo.com
  • Jerry Fruth, trailmaster1@sit-co.net

Kansas

  • Monica Chapman, monicachapman1987@gmail.com
  • Patti Crawford, PattiSamKS@everestkc.net
  • Mary Heberling, rmheberling@yahoo.com
  • Susan Keil, DVM, susankeil@yahoo.com
  • Belinda Hope Skiles, b.hope.skiles@gmail.com

Kentucky

  • Mike Chadwell, mike.chadwell@roadrunner.com
  • Greg Jones, Giltmead@Hughes.net

Maryland

  • Pat Oliva, patolivatigger@aol.com

Missouri

  • Laura Marshall, tofinish@gmail.com
  • Nancy Mueller, nancymu5@yahoo.com

New Jersey

  • Sandy Terp, sandyterp@icloud.com

New Mexico

  • Bob Bulcock, robert.bulcock@wvmb.com
  • Boyd Carson, spurc@earthlink.net
  • Dayle Hosek, dahosek@netzero.net
  • Deirdre Monroe, deirdre@swcp.com
  • Roger Taylor, roger_sue@prodigy.net
  • Jeff Trinkle, jasper@signalpeak.net

New York

  • Laura Hayes, lhayes@netsync.net
  • Libby Llop, qhll@earthlink.net

North Carolina

  • Roger Annes, rascalandco@gmail.com
  • Mary Britt, MaryWildFillie@aol.com
  • Jerry Brown, jerrybrown@citcom.net
  • Mike Everett, mikeeverett@embarqmailcom
  • Ruth Ann Everett, ruthanneeverett@embarqmail.com
  • Elizabeth Galloway, ebgalloway@gmail.com
  • Betty Hill, bettyhill60@yahoo.com
  • Keith Johnston, 336-667-5351
  • Wade Johnston, 336-667-5351
  • Stagg Newman, stagg@pisgahvu.com
  • Nancy Sluys, minglewood@surry.net

Ohio

  • Kellie A Moore, lu2enduranceride@yahoo.com

Oklahoma

  • Alanna Frank, ironviking@reagan.com
  • Gunner Frank, ironviking@reagan.com
  • Ann M. McFarland, mcfarland_ann@yahoo.com

Oregon

  • Charlene Farrell, sharke@clearwire.net
  • Paul Latiolais, hmpl@pdx.edu
  • Carol Crawford Myers, oregonreins@yahoo.com
  • Gary Pegg, eraggep@msn.com
  • Janelle Wilde, jwilde@wildevents.info

South Carolina

  • Sue Mullen, sad2sam@windstream.net
  • Andrea Rogers, carolinaluck@yahoo.com
  • John Rogers, carolinaluck@yahoo.com
  • Vance Stine, vstine@sifford-stine.com
  • Vickie Stine, cruzonvic@gmail.com

Tennessee

  • Jackie Caudill, jacaudill@hotmail.com
  • Dick Gould, destryky@gmail.com
  • Susan Kasemeyer, NdurN@aol.com
  • Debra LaComette, n2theblu@earthlink.net

Texas

  • Doug Blashill, hblash12@yahoo.com
  • Thomas Booth, tbooth000@gmail.com
  • Dianne Campbell, dcampbellintexas@gmail.com
  • Michael Campbell, mcampbellintexas@gmail.com
  • Dawn Carrie, rdcarrie@gmail.com
  • Terry De Armond, stetson63@gmail.com
  • Brenda DeWitt, brenda.dewitt@hughes.net
  • Mark Dial, cowboy_crew@hotmail.com
  • Amanda Fant, littlebrat84@hotmail.com
  • Sylvia Fant, sfant2008@hotmail.com
  • Kristen Fisher, kskf@earthlink.net
  • Scott Godwin, aggiendurancerider@gmail.com
  • Sue Jones, srigneyjones@etex.net
  • Danielle Lewis, danielle.p.lewis.civ@mail.mil
  • Mike Maul, mmaul@flash.net
  • Shirley Nobles, nobles.shirley@yahoo.com
  • Kenneth "Bo" Parrish, bop@valornet.com
  • Linda Parrish, lindapparab@valornet.com
  • Laura Petrie, llpetrie@consolidated.net
  • Al Prescott, quinnwood@hal-pc.org
  • Vicky Rogers, vicky@critterfixer.com
  • Sylvia Sazama, sasazama@yahoo.com
  • Mechelle Taylor, neyzhar@wildblue.net
  • Lorie Van Ongevalle, voarabians@aol.com

Virginia

  • John Crandell, johncrandell2012@yahoo.com
  • Gina Hagis, tghagis@gmail.com
  • John Proudman, miles2go@shentel.net

Washington

  • Jim Beidle, jbeidle@haikufarm.net
  • Jennifer LeBlanc, jensgoneriding@mindspring.com
  • Joan Fleming, joanfleming@q.com
  • Joyce Kellenberger, kelhie2@aol.com
  • Kathryn Lewandowsky, skyranch12805@yahoo.com
  • Aarene Storms, aarenex@haikufarm.net
  • Gail Williams, hadablondemoment@gmail.com

Wisconsin

  • Tom Gower, stgower@wisc.edu
  • Dawn Haas, jehaas@centurytel.net
  • Eileen Kirsch, ekirsch@usgs.gov
  • Ramona Radtke, ridediva@sbcglobal.net

 

Last Updated: 3/31/2014