To Finish Is To Win

American Endurance
Ride Conference

no content
no content
no content
no content

Specialized Saddles Rookie Award

All new members are automatically entered into the Rookie Award program in their first year of AERC membership at no additional cost.

Joined AERC in the past but did not do a ride? You may be eligible for the Rookie Award if:

1. You have two or fewer LD rides on your official record AND/OR
2. You have two or fewer endurance rides on your official record.

If you have more than two LDs but only one endurance ride, you could still qualify for the endurance award, just not the LD award, and vice versa.
You have to let us know by March 1 for all your previous rides to county. After that, your rides count from the date you notify us.

To contact the office to be added to the eligible rider list:

Current Rookie Award Guidelines:

Your ride mileage will begin accumulating towards this award from the date you join AERC.
Award based on one rider and one or two equines.
Equines must be the minimum age as required by AERC rules.
In the event of a tie, the higher number of completions will break the tie; second tie-breaker will be the higher number of longer ride completions (55 miles and up).
Riders with a completion rate of less than 80% at the end of the season will be ineligible for the Rookie Award.
Riders against whom a protest has been filed and upheld by the Protest and Grievance Committee for a failed drug test, equine abuse or poor sportsmanship are not eligible.
Rides done as a non-member (day member) will not count against this award.

*** Prizes for top three mileage earners in Endurance and Limited Distance ***

Endurance prizes:
1st place: Specialized Saddles endurance saddle (custom-tooled Eurolight with a fleece seat, conchos, and leather covered stirrups)
2nd place: Custom hay bag
3rd place: Custom hay bag

Limited Distance prizes:
1st place: Custom belt buckle
2nd place: Custom hay bag
3rd place: Custom hay bag

2019 Rookie Award Winners:
1. Gwen Boland (W) - 430 miles
2. Lisa Doring (PS) - 405 miles
3. Nicci Theron (MT) - 355 miles

Limited Distance:
1. Dan Pakes (MW) - 380 miles
2. Marco Antonio Barker Kellogg (MW) - 300 miles
3. Mackenna Bierschied (MT) - 220 miles

Special thanks to David and Tracy Kaden of Specialized Saddles for their sponsorship of this award.


Updated 7/8/20